The Greatness that is Trion Continues.

I love Trion Worlds.  I really, really do.  I have never, ever seen a MMO developer that is as receptive to the community and as caring.  They not only communicate, the listen. Take a look at past patch notes if you don’t believe me.  They want to get this game right and they are doing everything they can to do it.

But it extends beyond just the mechanics of the game.  They care about the community and the players and they have shown that, at every turn, they want to do right by them.  This fantastic attitude continued this evening.

Yesterday, when news of the pre-orders hit, many potential players headed to Gamestop or logged into Gamestop or Amazon to pre-order.  This included me.  You see, I really like having the box when I buy a game.  The digital downloads are very convenient but nothing beats having the box and all the goodies inside.  This is especially true for the Collector’s Edition.  So I, like many others, ordered from Amazon.

My order complete, I checked my email….only to find that there was no pre-order code included.  This meant I would not get into the betas and would not get the headstart.  Well, that is not acceptable!  So I called Amazon.  After talking to no less than four different people, I found that none of them knew anything about the pre-order codes.  I was pretty pissed.

Logging into the Rift forums, I found many others with the same problem.  Not only from Amazon but from Gamestop as well.  All of us had pre-ordered, none of us had received a code and Gamestop/Amazon knew nothing about it.

A few minutes later, Abigale posted that they were looking into the matter and hoped to have an answer soon.  This was pretty late, so I did not expect anything that night.  I logged off and hoped to see something by Friday, the day of the next Beta Event.

Today I log onto the forums to find this thread by Abigale, which says:

As many of you have reported, there have been some issues with code distribution from Amazon and GameStop. We are working to get that fixed and you will get your codes in time for the head start and all of the benefits of your pre-order. However, it looks like you may not have them in time for this weekend’s beta event.

We are not going to let that happen. We want to make sure that you don’t miss this event! So if you purchased your pre-order from one of these outlets and do not already have a VIP code, we will flag your account with VIP access ourselves. You can reach Customer Service through our Support Center. Send them a copy of your receipt and they will be able to help you.

Beta 4 invites will start going out later today but we will continue to send out batches of them throughout the rest of the week as your accounts are added. So if you don’t get an invite right away, give it some time. We will do our very best to take care of you.

We apologize for any inconvenience and confusion and we will do our best to see that you get to participate in this event. Thank you for your patience!

I immediately log into customer support and send them a message with my receipt attached.  I figured that I would get a response back sometime Friday or Thursday at the earliest.

Nope.

They got back to me in twenty minutes. With all the people frantically messaging them for help, they get back to me in twenty minutes.  And this wasn’t some form letter either.  This was a live person, not only letting me know they got the support request but actually fixing my problem. I am now a VIP and eligible for all the beta events.

That is amazing and just another indication of the greatness that is Trion Worlds.

6 Responses

  1. Honestly though them getting back to you in 20 minutes will end when the game launches.

    Many MMO companies do that at first, of course they want to increase sales and keep the issues at bay. I had the same treatment from Cryptic and others. Nothing special there.

    I dont think it makes them as super awesome as your post would indicate. Little over the top there 🙂

    Although it is nice that they got back to you good to hear

  2. How were you not already VIP? I’ve seen you all over the forums, you have an acknowledged fansite. Me thinks you would’ve been given your VIP code as opposed to searching for one.

  3. They are pretty good. Though, I did have one instance where the game bugged and I wasn’t sure if it was a bug or not (Hag’s Curse staying for about an hour). I sent a ticket and the GM got back to me saying it was my UI. By then it had auto-fixed so I didn’t care. A day later, though, I got an e-mail from another GM saying that I needed to use the patcher and check for corrupt files. I know the Customer Support are good but in that one instance it just felt like it was all my fault and they wouldn’t acknowledge something that was actually theirs. I wasn’t even hostile, just asking a question so I could send a bug report.


    Frank
    The Divine Guard
    Lotham

  4. I couldn’t agree more about Trion, I’ve been lucky to be a part of about 8 alphas and countless betas and I’ve never see a company more committed to making a quality game and listening to their customer base.

  5. For the naysayer’s like “Blunt Force”, I too was impressed by the response I got from Trion CS. After Friday morning arrived and I found out that I didn’t have an invitation to B4 (I hadn’t kept up on any of the dates and dind’t go searching for VIP codes), I went out Friday morning to Gamestop. I purchased to game, only to find out the same thing regarding the fact that they knew nothing about any codes.
    I read the same article and scanned my receipt and sent it in to CS. I didn’t get a response in 20 minutes, but I still got later that night. I was not expecting to have it resolved for B4. It was late on Friday, and going into the weekend.
    If you are a naysayer, then do all of us that want to drink Trion’s kool-aid, and stay away. We believe in this Company and the game.

Leave a Reply

