My Thoughts on the Pax Information After Day Two

So, I thought I would throw up a post giving my thoughts on the bevy of information we have gleaned from Pax in the last two days.  I will say, right up front, that I like just about all of it and I am looking forward to Rift even more after this weekend’s news.  There is a smattering of stuff I do not like or have my doubts about until I see it in action but, for the most part, I love it all.  So, without further ado, my quick hits on what I like and what I did not!

  • I love all the guild feature news!  More and more MMOs are going this way and it is a great thing.  I love that Rift is going to ship with such a full-featured Guild system.  The Guild levels, the banners, the Guild quests….I love it all.
  • The Mage Storm Caller sounds interesting, though I never really play mage classes.  I am sure it will be a handful to defeat in PvP, as most “Ice” mages are.  I am sure I will love to hate this guy!
  • I love that Rift will ship with at least two raids, which is more than WoW shipped with!  Really looking forward to facing the dragon in Greenscale Blight.
  • Hammerknell Fortress with 10 bosses sounds awesome.  I love long, difficult raids and I hope Rift brings this back.
  • PvP flagging on PvE servers is great for the PvE’ers.  Gives them a bit of a choice.  As I will be rolling PvP, however, it has no effect on me.
  • Chloromancer sounds really interesting.  A healing mage.  What will differentiate this from your normal healing class?  Perhaps we will see something akin to the Bloodmage in Vanguard?
  • Tier Raid progression is par for the course.  You should expect this in raiding games so it is no surprise that Rift will do it this way as well.
  • The AA system from high-level Rifts sound interesting.  Really need more information before I get too excited about this one.
  • Aaah, the Token system for Raids.  First thing I do not like.  I like the old way of doing things.  Just drop the loot!  Mayhap they will change this from the WoW system and make it better.  I can only hope!
  • Very glad duels are in.  Missed them in WAR.
  • The Quest Helper I can do without.  I like to explore and the Quest Helper just sits there and teases you with its information.
  • World Bosses!  Yes, WORLD BOSSES!!! And they are contested!!  This might be the single most exciting information I heard from Pax!!  I loved the World Dragons in vanilla WoW and I really loved having to fight off Horde to kill them.  This is awesome news!!!
  • Mage Dominator class sounds like it will be a real pain in the rear in PvP.  Still, it is awesome to see a class that focuses on CC again.  So many MMOs are increasingly scared of CC and I think it adds strategy and tactics to both PvE and PvP.
  • I love that they are not allowing add-ons which, in extreme cases, almost play the game for you.  I see it as an unnecessary crutch as long as the default UI is good and able to be moved around and resized.
  • I love that there is no cross-faction communication.  The opposite side is there to kill.  Period.  End of story.
  • Capital City raids!!  Another thing I am glad and excited for.
  • Love that the instance Kilrathi went into was difficult.  Ratchet up that difficulty, Trion.  I like a challenge!
  • Opening Rifts and pushing them to attack the opposing faction!  Another way to mess with the other side and I love it!
  • I wish there were appearance slots.  They add a lot to the game.  Hopefully in the future?
  • I would like to see Player Housing but it is not a deal-breaker for me.  Hopefully in the future?
  • I love that all the reports are saying that the production values seem extremely high.  Might we finally get a really polished, working and content-rich MMO at release?  Rift might change our perceptions of newly released MMOs!
  • I really, really, really love that everyone describes combat as responsive and tight.  The more positive comparisons I read between Rift combat and WoW combat, the happier I am.  After player WAR and its mushy combat, this is a great thing!
  • And, of course, the reports that beta is “Soon” is fantastic!

So, there you have it.  My quick-hit thoughts on the Pax information!  Disagree?  Let me know in comments!  Thanks for reading!

4 Responses

  1. Thanks for the infos🙂

  2. Agree with all, except for the cross-faction communication. It seems you are more of a PVP server player but:
    -for PVE in Rift, it might be useful to have elementary communication options in case a large community (the ones that make up a bunch of guilds and have a website together) decide to take on rifts together
    -RP servers would find it amazing. I’m reminded of seeing an ‘execution’ of a blood elf in front of Stormwind. Wouldn’t it be so much better if the blood elf could spit back an insult, and everyone would understand? I don’t see anything wrong with /say, and maybe /whisper… just stay out of the channels otherwise, and we’re cool

    Otherwise, I LOVE all the info coming out. I have my little iffy things on a few points, but 9/10 of the game looks better and better.

    • I am a PvP player, no doubt, and I do not want it there. But I completely understand where you are coming from and I would not mind seeing them give you the ability for limited communication between factions. Always remember, my blog will be written from a PvP player’s point of view, though I will always try to keep the PvE aspect in mind!🙂

  3. Thanks alot for the info, im looking even more forward this game, hopefully the content will be chalenging and its a total win for me.

Leave a Reply

